- Federal regulations require that each of these training programs consist of at least 75 hours of training, including at least 16 hours of supervised practical or clinical training and 12 hours of annual continuing education.
In order to become a HHA in Nevada, you must meet the following requirements:
- Be at least 18 years of age
- Possess a high school diploma (or GED)
- Provide references to the PCA
- Pass both state and federal criminal background checks
- Possess a valid state driver’s license and current liability insurance (if the HHA is to transport clients).
- Obtain a First Aid and CPR card within six months of date-of-hire.
- Complete a formal HHA or CNA training program, and receive on-the-job training while under administrative supervision
Once you are certified, federal law mandates that you complete 12 hours of continuing education for every 12-month period. Home Health Aide certificates must be renewed every two years. Therefore, you must complete and be able to prove 24 hours of continuing education for each 2 year period of employment.
Nevada Medicaid has a personal care aid (PCA) program to help keep Medicaid recipients living independently in their own homes by providing basic services, including bathing, dressing, cleaning and meal preparation. More information on the PCA program and to qualify to work as a PCA (Home Health Aide) can be found here
- Approximately 1,570 people were employed as Home health aides in Nevada in 2015.
Hourly Rate - Home health aides earned between $10.07/hour and $15.07/hour in 2015 (average rate was $12.82/hour)
Annual Salary - The annual salary ranged between $20,950 and $31,340 (average annual wage was $26,670)
Source - Bureau of Labor Statistics
Share This Page